A taste for the taste

This is one of many attempts to write some lyrics for a friend of mine.  For some reason it’s really been a bear.  This is the closest I’ve come to something I can work with.  It’s rather heavy for a song, so I’m currently working on paring it down.  Comments/ advice would be appreciated.  (I’ve really very little experience with lyric format.)
___________________
A taste for the taste
I belong in these woods
Fog-ridden and wan,
Lost amidst the limbs of night come and gone.
So alone the trees sway, creaking
But not speaking, not speaking to me.
No, It’s the liquid that burns,
Turns heads and loosens tongues,
Cleaves skin to skin
Abhors the sun above.
A taste for the taste,
a desire the craving that won’t fade,
Walking with the dark side of me.
So often this situation commences
with unassuming innocent intents
but it takes a turn, slip-shod and fuzzy,
while busy saying no regrets.
My breath a plume of narcotic stale cigarettes
I’m watching the world dance drunken minuets.

I can’t remember what I ingested but
I find my mind infested
with half-formed conversations,
Cloying sweet temptations,
consummated with indolent gyrations.

Sometimes there’s blood,
or a fire, or a flood-
A deluge of drink to wallow in.
To drown, forget and flounder,
All those nights I can’t remember
Bordered by a stark wood and choppy sea,
Kept in company with the dark side of me

Dancing through the dusk, stumbling through the dawn
These woods I travel through and beyond
I leave you amidst the remnants of revelry
On lips a taste not so easy to forget
The breath on my cheek a burning caress.

In these woods I belong,
Fuzzy-headed, fog-ridden and wan
Lost amidst the limbs of night come and gone.
So alone these trees sway, creaking
But not speaking, not speaking to me.
No, It’s the liquid that burns,
Turns heads and loosens tongues,
Cleaves skin to skin
Abhors the sun above.
A taste for the taste,
a desire the craving that won’t fade.

I’m left walking with the dark side of me.

Leave a Reply

